Learn - High School

The roots of education are bitter,

but the fruit is sweet.

ARISTOTLE

HS-A.jpg

High School

LYBS is committed to offering students as many quality options as possible for their future. As such, in our High School, Grades 10 to 12, our students have the opportunity to choose either to follow the national pathway leading to the rigorous Chinese University Entrance Exams with an enhanced course of studies based and focused on the Chinese National Curriculum (CNC) or attend one of the international programmes offered in the High School English Division. More specifically, our students have the opportunity to choose from the following four growth and development education opportunities:

                                   1608179448538875.jpg

National Curriculum (China)

We are offering ten subjects in our national curriculum high school, Chinese, mathematics, English, physics, chemistry, biology, politics, history, geography, information technology for grade 10 students. In addition, in grade 11, we are offering compulsory courses and electives. Compulsory courses include Chinese, mathematics, English, physics, chemistry, politics and history. Electives include biology and geography. Furthermore, in grade 12, compulsory courses include Chinese, mathematics and English. Electives include physics, chemistry, politics and history. College entrance examinations are held twice a year for grade 12 students, spring and autumn. Spring examinations are held in January and autumn examinations are held in June. The exams consist of three parts. For part 1, the total score of three compulsory courses is 450. In part 2, the total score for the Shanghai City Qualification Examinations is 120. For part 3, the total score of the Shanghai City level examinations is 90. Overall, the total score is 660. Grade 12 students can decide whether to sit for the spring or autumn examinations. LYBS national curriculum high school is following the regulations of the education authorities. Based on actual conditions, students are required not only to lay a solid foundation in basic knowledge but also to focus on psychological health education. They are encouraged to develop their interests in the arts and sports to highlight their strengths. Our philosophy is to educate individual talent holistically. Therefore, we focus our attention on students’ moral, intellectual, physical, artistic and skills development.

                                   1608179473198680.jpg

Ontario Curriculum (Canada)

In collaboration with the prestigious Columbia International College (CIC), Canada’s largest boarding school, LYBS offers the Ontario synchronous courses with Grade 12 taking place in Canada. The programme aims to provide students with a smooth transition and help them navigate successfully through life and its challenges in the future. After completing 30 credits, students receive the Canadian High School Diploma (OSSD) and can apply directly to universities in all Commonwealth countries as local Canadian students do. Since 2011, successive cohorts of LYBS students have graduated from our school and were offered the opportunity to attend their desired overseas universities for further study. On average, almost 80% of our students have been admitted to the top 10 universities in Canada with almost 60% of them been admitted to the University of Toronto, which ranks first in Canada and amongst the first twenty universities in the world. Every year, many students also choose to attend prestigious universities in other countries, such as the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia.

Contact us at cp@liaoyuanedu.org

                                   1608179501258641.jpg

US Curriculum with Advanced Placement Options (USA)

In collaboration with Woodstock Academy (WA), a famous private High School in the United States, LYBS offers the Common Core curriculum plus Next Generation Science Standards also providing some Advanced Placement (AP) options with grade 12 taking place in the United States. Students have the opportunity to study in LYBS for two consecutive school years including two summer semesters, and seamlessly enrol in Woodstock Academy for grade 12 to finally complete the credits and obtain a US High School diploma after graduation. Woodstock Academy was founded in 1801 as a comprehensive, independent, coeducational boarding High School in Connecticut, USA. The school is accredited by several leading educational associations, including the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) and the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS). The academy is located in a beautiful campus, almost a two-hour drive from Boston and New York City. The school’s success in college has included Ivy League schools such as Harvard, Yale, Columbia, and The University of Pennsylvania, as well as students who have gone to the West Coast to attend the University of California at Berkeley, Los Angeles or the world-famous Stanford University. It is an ideal school with a strong academic atmosphere providing a diverse learning experience, and a safe and effective pathway for LYBS students to study in top American universities since 2018.

Contact us at usp@liaoyuanedu.org or ap@liaoyuanedu.org

                                   

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IB DP)

The International Baccalaureate mission is to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who help to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect. To this end, the IB Diploma Programme (DP) is designed for students aged 16 to 19. The IB prepares students to succeed in a world where facts and fiction merge in the news, and where asking the right questions is a crucial skill that will allow them to flourish long after their graduation. Research suggests that there are many benefits for choosing the DP, which is considered by universities to be the best pre-college preparation programme in the world. The DP aims at developing students who have excellent breadth and depth of knowledge – students who flourish physically, intellectually, emotionally and ethically. The Diploma Programme curriculum is made up of six subject groups and the DP core, comprising Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) and the Extended Essay (EE). Through the Diploma Programme core, students reflect on the nature of knowledge, complete independent research and undertake projects to offer community service. The International Baccalaureate assesses student work as direct evidence of achievement against the stated goals of the Diploma Programme courses. LYBS is already part of a global network of around 5,000 IB world schools, in over 150 countries around the world. It is an officially authorized IB Diploma Programme school that will offer the programme beginning September 2021 onwards. IB world schools share a common philosophy -a commitment to high-quality, challenging, international-education- that we believe is important for our students. For more information, click here.

Contact us at dpc@liaoyuanedu.org

学习 - 高中部

教育的根是苦的,

但其果实是甜的。

亚里士多德

HS-A.jpg

高中部

燎原双语学校为学生提供尽可能多的优质项目选择,让学生的未来之路具有多种可能。在我们的高中部,10-12年级的学生可以选择以中国国家课程(CNC)为基础,辅助重点强化项目的国内高考,或者从国际课程班提供的三大国际课程中选择。更具体地说,我们的学生有机会从以下四种成长和发展教育机会中选择:

                                   1608179448538875.jpg

中国国家课程

10年级学生修读10门课程,分别为:语文、数学、英语、物理、化学、生物、政治、历史、地理和信息技术。11年级学生的课程包括必修课和选修课,必修课为:语文、数学、英语、物理、化学、政治和历史,选修课为:生物和地理。12年级学生的课程同样包括必修课和选修课,必修课为:语文、数学和英语,选修课为:物理、化学、政治和历史。12年级学生一年有两次高考机会,即1月份的春季高考和6月份的秋季高考。考试由三部分组成,满分为660分。其中,第一部分包括三门必修课的考试,三科满分共计450分。第二部分为上海市资格考试,满分共计120分。第三部分为上海市学业水平考试,满分共计90分。12年级学生可决定是否参加春秋季高考。燎原双语学校高中部的所有国家课程均根据教育部规定设置。我们从学生的实际情况出发,不仅要求学生在基础知识方面打下坚实基础,也要求学生重视心理健康教育。我们鼓励学生发展对艺术和体育的兴趣,以凸显自我优势。我们秉持着全人教育理念,注重学生在德育、智育、体育、艺术教育和技能培养等方面全面发展。

                                   1608179473198680.jpg

安大略省课程(加拿大)

我校与加拿大最大的寄宿学校,哥伦比亚国际学院(CIC)合作,为学生提供加拿大安大略省同步课程,学生将赴加拿大完成12年级的学习。该课程旨在帮助学生顺利升学,并尽快适应和融入当地生活,以迎接未来的挑战。学生修完30学分之后即可获得加拿大高中文凭(OSSD),并且可以像所有加拿大本地学生一样直接申请入读所有英联邦国家及全球高校。从2011年起,我们已经有数届毕业生并入读理想海外高校,顺利开启下一阶段的学习之旅。近年来,我校毕业生中有近80%的学生被加拿大排名前十的高校录取,其中,将近60%的学生入读加拿大排名第一且在全世界排名前二十的多伦多大学。此外,每年也有不少学生选择入读美国、英国和澳大利亚等其他国家的名校。联系我们:cp@liaoyuanedu.org

                                   1608179501258641.jpg

美国高中课程+大学预修课程(美国)

燎原双语学校与美国知名私立高中伍德斯托克学院(WA)合作,为学生提供美国高中课程及大学预修课程(AP)。课程由美国共同课程下一代组成,学生将赴美国完成12年级课程。选读该课程的学生可以在燎原双语学校连续修读两个学年的课程,包括两个暑期课程,然后无缝对接伍德斯托克学院的12年级,最终修完学分并获得美国高中文凭。伍德斯托克学院创立于1801年,是一所位于美国康涅狄格州的综合性私立寄宿学校。该校受到多个顶尖教育联盟的认证,包括新英格兰学校和大学协会(NEASC)与全美独立学校协会(NAIS)。校园环境优美,交通便利,距离波士顿和纽约市约两小时车程。该校已有众多毕业生被哈佛大学、耶鲁大学、哥伦比亚大学和宾夕法尼亚大学等常春藤盟校录取,部分学生入读加州大学伯克利分校、洛杉矶大学以及举世闻名的斯坦福大学等西海岸名校。伍德斯托克学院是一所拥有浓厚学习氛围的理想学校,为学生提供多样化的学习体验。自2018年以来,对燎原双语学校的学生来说,该综合课程已成为一条迈向美国顶尖大学的有效途径。联系我们:usp@liaoyuanedu.org 或 ap@liaoyuanedu.org

                                   

国际文凭大学预科课程(IB DP)

国际文凭组织的目标是培养勤学好问、知识渊博、富有爱心的年轻人,他们通过对多元文化的理解和尊重,为开创更美好、更和平的世界贡献力量。为此,国际文凭组织为16-19岁学生开设了国际文凭大学预科课程。国际文凭课程旨在培养学生能够成功应对快速迭代的信息化时代,并懂得提出问题和解决问题,从而能够游刃有余地融入社会。研究显示选择国际文凭大学预科课程有很多优势,并被诸多高校认可为全世界最好的大学预科课程。DP课程主要培养学生具备广泛渊博的知识,让学生在德育、体育、智育和情感教育等方面全面发展。国际文凭课程由六大学科和三大核心课程:包括知识论(TOK)、创新、活动与服务(CAS)以及拓展论文(EE)组成。在核心课程中,学生会思考知识,独立完成研究,并参加多种项目,为社区提供服务。国际文凭课程会评估学生在这些科目中的表现,并综合评估学生的学习成果。国际文凭课程现覆盖全球超过150个国家共计约5,000所学校,而燎原双语学校已成为国际文凭课程体系的组成部分。燎原双语学校已获得国际文凭大学预科项目IB DP的认证,并将于2021年9月起正式开课。国际文凭课程体系的教育观与我校的办学理念不谋而合,都是致力于提供具有挑战性的国际化优质教育,因为在我们看来,这一点对学生至关重要。点击这里了解更多信息。联系我们:dpc@liaoyuanedu.org